Author Topic: is my newfie mix on target  (Read 7734 times)

Offline arkydo

• Big Paw Certified
    • View Profile
is my newfie mix on target
« on: December 03, 2006, 09:42:24 am »
???
Hello in the summer me and my wife got a newfie mix we called him Arkyd (our kid) his dad was an AKC 150lb newfie and his mum was a black lab st Bernard mix she weighed 110lbs and was bout 27 inches tall.
To be honest unless i told you, you wouldn't have a clue he was mixed.
but any way i was wondering if he sounds like hes gonna be big, i browsed the net and not found any weight guide for the breed hes just turned 5 months weighs 74lbs and stands 23 inches tall at the shoulders. does this sound right????
« Last Edit: December 03, 2006, 09:47:16 am by arkydo »

Offline Nina

• Supreme Drooler
  • In Loving memory 12/30/05 8:30pm We miss you
    • View Profile
Re: is my newfie mix on target
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2006, 11:08:45 am »
Aww he is super cute. I am no newfie expert but I think that sounds about right. You don't want him to grow too fast though or he may end up having hip and joint problems. If you are feeding him puppy food I would switch to adult food now. Puppy food is not good for giant breed dogs, they grow too fast on it. Can't wait to see more pictures.

Nina
Nina and Tim
Calgary, AB, Canada
Harley(Lab mix)
Dilbert(Pyr mix)At the bridge
Jolene (cat)

Offline newflvr

• Tail Wagging Champ
  • Cowboy is four years old and Chester is almost two
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2006, 11:17:29 am »
Nina has it right!  He sounds like he's going to be a big boy but be careful about his growing too fast.  His joints won't be strong enough to support such a big boy!  He should be on an adult food with low protein (preferably under 22%) and low fat until he's at least 18 months.  Slow growth is far better than fast.

The picture of him is adorable!!

Offline arkydo

• Big Paw Certified
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2006, 01:00:19 pm »