Author Topic: High Protein for puppy: good or bad?  (Read 20872 times)

Offline Edwpang

• Big Paw Certified
    • View Profile
High Protein for puppy: good or bad?
« on: May 31, 2007, 04:22:16 am »
A lot people are saying high protein is bad for large breed puppies. Why is that? It makes grow them too fast? Any evidence? Is it OK to just feed less and keep the same level of daily protein intake? For example, both Innova EVO and Orijen have about 42% protein, and it's recommended to feed 24% protein dry food to puppies, can I feed ~60% of high protein food? Please share your experience.

mama23+pyrs2

Re: High Protein for puppy: good or bad?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2007, 04:33:36 am »
Good questions. I'm curious to hear the answers you get. I know some people on here are feeding high protein to their pups, but I've always been told not to and I've always been careful to keep it low, it gets confusing!

Nicole

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2007, 05:11:58 am »
Well, I'm not an expert or anything...but I've always heard and read that high protein for a growing big paw pup is a bad thing. Their mass gets put on faster than their skeletal system can grow to support it, therefore making them more susceptible to ortho problems.

There are LOTS of good threads here about this issue, and HOlly, our resident food guru can certainly elucidate for you.

Good question. I think the commonly accepted answer is low protein, though.

Offline People Whisperer

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2007, 05:17:57 am »
I have been feeding 45-50% protein to my Great Pyrenees since she was 2 months. She was growing nice and slow (much slower then most of the other litter mates which were fed 24%). She has no health issues and very lean.