Author Topic: I feel used (NDR) - kind of long  (Read 1661 times)

Offline aggghgmom

• BPO Guru
    • View Profile
I feel used (NDR) - kind of long
« on: October 10, 2007, 11:37:23 am »
so dear friends,

I have an issue at work and I have exhausted all the possiblities so now I sit and stew over the outcome I will try to give you a condensed version but it is long.

I was hired 3 years ago as a computer lab assistant at the High School where my son goes and my daughter will someday as well.  The hours work out great, they are flexable and the 2 ladies I work with are awesome - sounds great huh - it really is BUT I make next to nothing.  A little over minimum wage - I am a certified teacher, with a masters degree - I'm not teaching because there are no job openings and honestly I don't know If I want to commit to the time that goes into that job.  So my job when I started was to watch the students in the lab make sure they were following the rules; write up repair orders; and fill the printers - well as people have figured out that I have a brain I am now running all over the building fixing this computer issues or that one; updating the website; helping substitute teachers; reimaging computers; setting up new computers and installing software and the list goes on.  I am always asked if I mind doing these things and I do like to keep busy but I look around at staff doing so much less than me and getting paid more - so everyones answer is stop doing the extras and just do my job - but then I won't seem like a team player and the lady I help out will be overwhelmed and I like her.