Author Topic: drool question  (Read 6459 times)

Offline pyr4me

• Grand Master
    • View Profile
drool question
« on: October 27, 2007, 07:13:03 pm »
Hello! I am new to having a giant breed dog--I have a Great Pyrenees--and she does not drool at all (at least she hasn't this first week I've had her). I am pleasantly surprised and it started me wondering if all big dogs drool? Or if specific breeds drool more than others? Or if drooling is more individual "dog-specific"? Any thoughts?
Jennifer

Tipper (8 1/2 yrs) Golden Retriever/Sheltie mix
Jenny (4 yrs) Great Pyrenees
Gabriel (14 yrs) Sealpoint Himalayan cat
Melanie (11 yrs) Domestic medium hair cat

"You think dogs will not be in heaven? I tell you, they will be there long before any of us."
~Robert Lewis Steven

Offline People Whisperer

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
Re: drool question
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2007, 07:18:11 pm »
Most of the pyrs don't drool at all unless it is super hot. They are not food motivated so they don't drool when they see food either.
There are plenty on big dogs that do drool: Newfs, mastiffs, saints, etc.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2007, 07:31:03 pm by People Whisperer »
"To once own a Great Pyrenees is to love and want one always."
Mary W. Crane

I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it :)

Offline Fumble

• BPO Guru
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2007, 03:15:13 am »
stacy and i have had many a conversation about this issue,  we think the dogs with shorter noses and hanging jowls drool.  there are some newfies who don't, but they have a little longer snout, then there are the newfies with the short noses (kinda like st. bernarnds) there are more apt to drool... we've got a drooler on our end.  i've really  just come to accept it.  my mom said it's great training for when i have children because i won't care about what they throw up.  lol.

good luck!
"My newfoundlands live my life as passionately as i live theirs"