Author Topic: How much exercise for adult Pyr?  (Read 3290 times)

Offline pyr4me

• Grand Master
    • View Profile
How much exercise for adult Pyr?
« on: October 27, 2007, 07:42:47 pm »
Hi there. I am new to this breed and wanted to get a sense of exercise needs. My other dog is a high energy dog who can't get enough, my Pyr is obviously much slower, but seems to enjoy our daily walks and hikes in the woods. How much and how often do you exercise your Pyr???
Jennifer

Tipper (8 1/2 yrs) Golden Retriever/Sheltie mix
Jenny (4 yrs) Great Pyrenees
Gabriel (14 yrs) Sealpoint Himalayan cat
Melanie (11 yrs) Domestic medium hair cat

"You think dogs will not be in heaven? I tell you, they will be there long before any of us."
~Robert Lewis Steven

Offline People Whisperer

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
Re: How much exercise for adult Pyr?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2007, 07:48:56 pm »
I walk Lily 45 min in the morning. 30 min at lunch and 45 min after dinner. All the walks are very slow though. She is like a big bag of potatoes  ;D It takes 5 times longer to wak a distance I can walk myself  ;)
« Last Edit: October 27, 2007, 07:50:32 pm by People Whisperer »
"To once own a Great Pyrenees is to love and want one always."
Mary W. Crane

I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it :)

Offline GoldenPyrs

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2007, 10:49:16 pm »
It varies in my experience.  Like people, some Pyrs are more energetic than others, but as a whole they are very laid back.  If Jenny chases & romps with Tipper in your yard, she maybe getting quite a bit of exercise that way, too.  You can usually tell if they need more or less exercise by whether they are wound up & into mischief or looking pooped out.  ;)  :D
Marie

And my pups:
Daisy a 9 y/o Golden/Lab mix
Sammy a 6-7(?) y/o Great Pyrenees adopted 3/07
Cassie a 3 y/o Pyr/Mystery Snuggle Bunny mix adopted 2/07

My angel girls waiting at the Bridge: