Author Topic: Help!!! Daisy's gone mad!  (Read 3583 times)

Offline DaisyPyr

• Gnawer
  • Daisy giving me her Pyr Smile!
    • View Profile
    • Ethereal Harmonies
Help!!! Daisy's gone mad!
« on: January 18, 2008, 01:16:31 pm »
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the boards, but I'm serious when I say my dogs gone nuts. I adopted 18 month old Daisy in October. I'm new to the dog, but not to the breed. My parents had 2 while I was growing up. Shortly after we got her, she went into heat and started showing food aggression. I've been dealing with this issue by feeding her by hand and making her get used to me petting her while she eats. The food aggression seems to be getting better. But now I have a new problem. I own a jewelry shop, and Daisy is at work with me everyday. At the beginning of this week, she has started to bark at all the male customers! She's fine when they first come in and she'll let them pet her, and then she decides that she doesn't like them and starts to bark at them. A few times she's tried to get at them over the counter. she hasn't tried to bite them, she just lunged. I've been quick enough to grab her, because personally, I don't want to find out what she wants to do next. I always make her sit and calm down, but as soon as my hand comes off her collar she starts barking again. I cannot figure out what may be causing this behaviour, because we haven't seen any signs of it previously. I know it is unacceptable for the breed, but I would like to try and fix it before I give up on her. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

M
Mommy to Daisy- 18 month-old Pyr

Offline Scootergirl

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
    • Be my friend on myspace!
Re: Help!!! Daisy's gone mad!
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 01:20:58 pm »
Do you walk her before you come to work? It may be that she just needs to exercise off some extra energy before she sits around the shop all day.