Author Topic: Dog Allergies-HELP!  (Read 1874 times)

Offline hudsonsmom

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
Dog Allergies-HELP!
« on: May 09, 2008, 06:11:06 pm »
Hi, Everyone

I'm brand new to the blog, but I have quite a predicament on my hands. I have a wonderful 4 year old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel named Hudson.  He has severe allergies.  His eyes have nasty discharge, they are fire red, he chews his feet, his bottom, his tail, all to the point that they have scabs and missing hair.  I've talked to my vet and she recommended Benadryl which I gave religiously and it really didn't work. So, she had me switch to Chlortrimeton. Not working. Now, I want to switch him to a good allergen free dog food, but I don't know where to begin.  Does anyone have recommendation s?  He's not a terribly picky eater, but I want it to taste good to him.  Thanks for any help you can give.

Lindsay

Offline KiraNGunnersmom

• Paw-meister
    • View Profile
Re: Dog Allergies-HELP!
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2008, 06:48:23 pm »
We have to feed our Akita a corn/wheat free kibble.  If we feed her Kibble with those things in it.  She develops hot spots and a smell, almost like corn chips.
As soon as she is put back on a  restricted diet the smell goes away and the hot spots heal.
Maybe try feeding a grain free or raw diet.
Kira- Akita
Gunner-Mastiff
cockateils-Peanut Butter & Jelly
Beta fish-Mak

Offline Guardian Angel's White lightning

• Top Doggie Dog
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2008, 07:39:59 pm »
you could up to dosage for benedryl...the worst that will happen my vet said is they will get sleepy...and if that is the case ease off a little!  perhaps that could help?   :-\

Offline mastiffmomoftwo

• Full Fledged Chewer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2008, 08:49:47 pm »
Hi, and welcome.
You will have to find out if your pup is allergic to food, or something in his surroundings.

Since the dog is 4 years old already, has he had any issues in the past?