Author Topic: Introducing rescue to new home  (Read 4484 times)

Offline BooBoo4

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
Introducing rescue to new home
« on: August 14, 2008, 06:18:40 pm »
Hello, I am a newbie here and hope I am posting in the correct area. I am currently in the process of rescueing a Neopolitan Mastiff. He is about 3 years old and a total neglect case. Sores all over his backside and hip area. He is about 65 pounds (soooo sad)  He will not be able to be with my family for at least another 2- 3 weeks as we wait for him to get some meat on his bones so he can be neutered.

My questions are : I have a 9 month old spayed female at home and was wondering what is the best way to introduce the two?
                    We will be visiting him often and wonder if bringing him something from our home that he can keep will make his transition easier?

How long should I wait before enrolling him in some obedience classes?

What are some other questions to ask about his behavior: We covered,children,men,dogs,cats food aggression.

Thank you for any advice and sorry so long.

Offline sc.trojans

• Big Paws-a-holic
  • Gracie and Skylar
    • View Profile
    • Natural K9
Re: Introducing rescue to new home
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2008, 01:27:41 pm »

Here is a great article to help with all assimilation:

Canine Adoption Advice

January 2006
By Mardi Richmond

Here's how to make your new dog's adoption work for life.