Author Topic: NEED HELP!! new newfie puppy  (Read 22576 times)

Offline Astrids mom

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
NEED HELP!! new newfie puppy
« on: August 10, 2005, 11:58:19 am »
Hi  I am so glad  I found Big Paws Only. I am a new newfie mom and I am having a bit of a hard time. Astrid my puppy is so sweet but seems to have a lot of seperation anxiety. She cries and barks herself hoarse while in her crate at night or when I have to leave her at home. She also poops and peas all over her crate and then I have a very yucky puppy. I drove her home friday night 8/05/05 and I have not slept since. Pleaes tell me that it gets better then this. She does pretty good with going potty or as I say doing biz in the day time. I do get up to bring her out at night but she has already gone all over herself!!

Has anyone else had any issues like this? Im new to this puppy stuff and now I get why people say having a puppy is like having a baby!

Offline Bear

• Paw-meister
  • The Bear Cub
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP!! new newfie puppy
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2005, 12:02:23 pm »
Hi and welcome to Big Paws. I feel terrible for you and Astrid and don't know what to say - the pros will step in shortly I'm sure.

I can tell you this tho - it does get better! It sounds like Astrid is going to need a little more patience and work but he will certainly come around.

Michael~

Offline Jessdryden

• Supreme Drooler
  • My girls
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2005, 12:05:25 pm »
Hi Astrid's Mom!

Don't worry, it definitely gets better than this!   :)  A new newfie puppy--yippee!  We have a 7 month old newfie girl, Sasha.  We didn't have this exact problem, but there are lots of helpful, knowledgeable people here who I'm sure will help you.  Poor Astrid, scared to be alone and Poor Mom, no sleep since Friday!   :(

Welcome to BPO and don't worry, it will get better!

Best wishes,
Jessica and Sasha