Author Topic: To shave or not to shave. . .  (Read 11982 times)

Offline jenncotton

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
To shave or not to shave. . .
« on: April 18, 2005, 03:26:36 pm »
Hi All -- I am new to the neighborhood and have a question. I have two saints and live in Texas. It gets REALLY hot here in the summer and I am wondering about everyone's opinions on shaving my dogs. I've heard that you shouldn't but we have shaved our older dog in the past and he seemed so much happier. Please let me know what you think.

Thanks!!

Offline elmo

• Veteran Dog Chomper
    • View Profile
Re: To shave or not to shave. . .
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2005, 03:31:48 pm »
dont do it!

alexeeah

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2005, 10:03:23 am »
i must agree with the above poster. the risk you take of sunburns and such I would much rather spend the money on a good airconditioner for the babies!!

Offline saratogajones

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2005, 05:24:02 pm »
To add to the first post, I am considering shaving her only because we spend so much time on the water, I fear it will weight her down as well as cause her great discomfort in the heat.  Any ideas?

Offline newflvr

• Tail Wagging Champ
  • Cowboy is four years old and Chester is almost two
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2005, 07:55:10 pm »
We have shaved the Newf bellies in the summer....left all the rest of the coat alone.  They keep their bellies on the cool floors or on their cool-pads on their beds and seem to do well in the summer!

Offline kuvaszlily

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2005, 01:07:22 pm »