Author Topic: Help with Dane food  (Read 4501 times)

Offline Boobearsmom

• Veteran Dog Chomper
    • View Profile
Help with Dane food
« on: December 15, 2005, 03:16:03 pm »
Hi, I'm new to Big Paws and was hoping I could get some advice on the food I'm feeding to my 5 1/2 month old Dane.  She came to us on Purina One Puppy Chow and changed her food recently over a two week period.  She is now on Blue Buffalo Adult Dog food twice a day and was hoping someone could let me know if thats a good food for her.  She seems to love it, although she's pooping 4 times a day now, and boy are they BIG!!  She's healthy and playful but she's also deaf.  We're teaching her sign language and she's in obedience class with a wonderful instructor who knows sign language also.  So, any ideas on her food?  I've read Danes do really well on the BARF diet, but what about straight dry food?

Offline Anky

• Supreme Drooler
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Dane food
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2005, 03:19:35 pm »
hi, my name is Ang and I have a dane as well, his name is Sanity.  (And one of my best friends has a deaf white dane who's Sanity's best buddy.)  I've never heard of Blue Buffalo before.  I'll have to look that up for you.  :)  Basically with a Dane puppy you feed them adult food (Preferably anything 24% protien or under) and avoid foods with fillers.  I can give you a list if you'd like.

Edited to add I found this list I did on another post.

Well *Cracks fingers in preparation for a long typing session*   

I note Alternative protiens for dogs with allergic reactions to some traditional protein sources.

I like Canidae.  Depending on where you live you can get a 40 pound bag for $30-$35.  It has a high calorie content, so you feed fewer cups.  (24% protein)
http://www.canidae.com/dogs/all_life_stages/dry.html

Solid Gold makes a food called "Wolf King", with Bison and Salmon as protein sources (22% Protein).  Do not confuse this with "Wolf Cub" the puppy formula (26% protein)