Author Topic: Loki & my 6 year old grandson  (Read 9159 times)

Offline charlotte5050

• Gnawer
    • View Profile
Loki & my 6 year old grandson
« on: May 31, 2005, 12:00:39 pm »
I am at a loss how to handle the situatioin with my 10 month old Loki and my 6 year old grandson. My daughter and her children had to temporarily move in with us last week.

I am a tax professional, so needless to say, when I really needed to be working with Loki on training, behavior, etc., I was not home only long enough to feed, get in a few quick pettings and gone again.  Since I have had more time the last month, Loki and I have made a lot of progress.  We have worked hard on the sit-stay, not jumping up on people, laying quietly when in the house, not using the Pomeranian as a chew toy, etc.

My grandson is ill-behaved, on the wild side, and does exactly the opposite of what he is told or asked to do. Loki at her worst is better than he is at his best!  I have tried to work with both of them, getting my grandson to play with rather than run from Loki.  Being a puppy, she thinks it is great fun to run and chase and ultimately "catch" her prey!.  To make a long story short, my grandson winds up with bites and scratches from Loki's rough playing.  

I have had to resort to keeping Loki on her chain.  She doesn't understand why she can't run and play when my grandson is outside.  I have tried to compensate by taking Loki and the border collie on long walks out in the pasture.  I don't want this behavior to get out of hand, but don't know any way around Loki feeling like she is being punished by getting chained up.  She sets outside my window and cries.  It just breaks my heart.

How about letting Loki run loose and putting the grandson on the chain?!?!?!

Suggestions, please?

Thanks, Charlotte
Charlotte

Offline greek4

• Majestic Member
  • Kole with Maia, Baxter, Rocco, and Cody
    • View Profile
Re: Loki & my 6 year old grandson
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2005, 12:12:20 pm »